University of Johannesburg UJ Residence or Accommodation

University of Johannesburg UJ Residence or Accommodation

Student Accommodation and Residence Life​

Student Accommodation & Residence Life division is mainly responsible for the accommodation of approximately 19000 students in both university owned and managed residences as well as off-campus accredited privately owned accommodation.

This is a vast division with 35 residences spread over 4 campuses at the University of Johannesburg. It should further be noted that, the total number of 35 residences are inclusive of the 7 Day Houses.

Off-campus accommodation’s accredited properties are within 2 km of each campus and   where they are beyond the prescribed radius, the set condition is that service providers are obliged to provide transport. Additionally, intercampus transportation is provided for all students residing in off-campus residences and houses. The university offers to all students, a list of accredited off-campus accommodation.

To All UJ Students/Parents and Sponsors

UJ Student Regulations

UJ Regulations for student discipline

2019 POSA Subscribing List 06-03-2019.pdf

Contact Us

Auckland Park Bunting Road Campus

​Auckland Park Bunting Road Junior Men’s Residence

​Kilimanjaro Men’s Residence 
Residence Assistant
Mr. Junior Nkuna
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 1337
E-mail: juniorn@uj.ac.za (acting)
Residence House Warden 
Mr. Anthony Ambala
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 1354
E-mail: aambala@uj.ac.za

 

Auckland Park Bunting Road Junior Ladies Residences

Horizon Ladies’ Residence 
Residence Manager
Ms. Kristine Sishi
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 1264
E-mail: kristines@uj.ac.za

Ndlovukazi Ladies’ Residence
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Constance Sathekge
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 1338
E-mail: constances@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden 
Ms. Sarita Rademeyer
E-mail: saritar@uj.ac.za
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 5562


Auckland Park Bunting Road Senior Residences

Mayine Senior Residence
Residence Assistant
Ms. Athini Sipaka
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 1724
E-mail: athinis@uj.ac.za
House Warden
Mr. Abe Molokwane
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 1040
E-mail: mokotom@uj.ac.za

Goudstad Flats  
Residence Manager: 
Ms. Evelyn Mabece
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 1335
E-mail: dipalisam@uj.ac.za

Auckland Park Bunting Road Day House

Ikhayalethu – Day house Warden
Mr. Paul Antohnie
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 1186
E-mail: pantohnie@uj.ac.za

Auckland Park Kingsway Campus

Junior Ladies Residence

Magnolia Ladies Residence
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Zanele Thabethe
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 2465 / 2155
Residence House Warden:
Dr. Costa Georghiou
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 4552
Email: costag@uj.ac.za

Impumelelo Ladies Residence 
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Zanele Thabethe
Tel:  +27 (0) 11 559 2155 /2564
Email: Zanelet@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden:
Prof Wellington Twala
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 6048
Email: didibhukut@uj.ac.za

Moshate Hights Ladies Resience 
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Yvonne Mulder
E-mail: yvonnem@uj.ac.za
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3484
Residence House Warden:
Ms Nomsa Mahlangu
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 1090
E-mail: nmahlangu@uj.ac.za

Lebone 
Residence Assistant
Ms. Gladys Leeuw
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2476
Email: gmleeuw@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden:
Ms. Ernestine Meyer-Adams
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 4541
Email: ernestinema@uj.ac.za

 

Karibu-Jamii Ladies Residence
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Tersia Davids
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2536
Email: tersiad@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden

Ms Connie Tshimangadzo
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 3148
Email: ctshimangadzo@uj.ac.za  

 

Junior Men’s Residence

Afslaan 
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Gladys Leeuw
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2476
Email: gladysl@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden:
Professor Chris Landsberg
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2893
Email: gadampier@uj.ac.za

Amaqhawe Men’s Residence
Residence Assistant 
Ms. Yvonne Mulder
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3484
E-mail: yvonnem@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden:
Mr. Graham Dampier
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3428
E-mail: gadampier@uj.ac.za

 

Cornerstone Mens Residence 

Residence Assistant

Mr Bonginkosi Nxumalo
Tel: +27 (0) 11 559 2863

E-mail: bonginkosin@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden:

Mr. Christopher Fortuin
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3428

Email: chrisf@uj.ac.za

 

Oppierif Male Residence
Residence Assistant
Mr Bonginkosi Nxumalo
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2863
Email: bonginkosin@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden:
Mr. Jannes Bester
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2104
Email: jannesb@uj.ac.za

 

Auckland Park Kingsway Mixed junior Residence

 

 

Sophiatown Residence

Residence Assistant

Ms. Anna-Marie Harmse

Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 3603

Email: annamarie@uj.ac.za

Residence House Warden

Mr. Busisani Mhlambi

Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 3872

Email: busisanim@uj.ac.za

 

 

Senior Residence

 

Thomas Sankara Post-graduate Residence   
Residence Assistant
Ms Salome Malgas
Tel:  +27 (0)11 559 2587
Email: smalgas@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden
Mr. George Mavunga
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 5570
E-mail: gmavunga@uj.ac.za

 

Auckland Park Kingsway Day Houses

 

Akani Ladies’ Day-House
Residence House Warden

Ms. Stella Bvuma

Tel: +27 (0) 11 559 3953/3419

E-mail: stellab@uj.ac.za

 

Azania Ladies’ Day-House

Residence House  Warden

Mr. Tyson Mabunda

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 2688

E-mail: ttmabunda@uj.ac.za

 

Jabali Men’s Day-House

Residence House Warden

Prof Chris Rensleigh

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 2189
E-mail: crensleigh@uj.ac.za

 

Falcons Men’s Day-House

Residence House Warden

Ms. Grace Meadows

E-mail: gmeadows@uj.ac.za
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3627

 

 

Doornfontein Campus

 

Senior Residence

Takalani Mens Residence  
Residence Assistant:
Ms. Daphney Mogano
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 6217
E-mail: dmogano@uj.ac.za

 

Residence House Warden

Mr. Herve Mitoumba-Tindy

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3278
Email: hmitoumba-tindy@uj.ac.za

 

Junior Ladies Residence

Gauta Ladies’ Residence
Residence Assistant:
Ms Nthabiseng Senokoane
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 6437
E-mail:  nthabisengs@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden
Ms. Vonani Tshabane (acting)
Tel: +27 (0)11 559  2065
E-mail: vtshabane@uj.ac.za

 

Phumlani Ladies’ Residence
Residence Assistant
Ms. Zama Ngwenya
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 9025
E-mail: zngwenya@uj.ac.za

Junior Men’s Residence

 

Lesedi Ladies Residence 
Residence Assistant: 
Ms. Daphney Mogano
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 6552
E-mail: dmogano@uj.ac.za

 

Residence House Warden

Mr. Herve Mitoumba-Tindy

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 3278
Email: hmitoumba-tindy@uj.ac.za

Habitat Mixed Senior Residence 
Residence Assistant:

Mr Matlhatsi Mamabolo
Tel: +27 (0)11 402 0090
E-mail:matlhatsim@uj.ac.za

 

Robin Crest Men’s Residence 
Residence Manager: 
Ms. Nobuntu Nxumalo
Tel: +27 (0)11 402 7923
E-mail: sbuntun@uj.ac.za

 

Kopano House Men’s Residence 
Residence Manager: 
Mr. Peter Malepe
Tel: +27 (0)11 402 0008
E-mail: pmalepe@uj.ac.za

 

Akanani Men’s Residence 
Residence Manager:
Mr. Thabo Nawa
Tel: +27 (0)11 402 9753
E-mail: happyn@uj.ac.za

 

 

Soweto Campus

 

Hector Pieterson Mixed Residence
Residence Assistant

Mr. Teboho Mongale

Tel: +27 (0)11 559 5821

E-mail: tebohom@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden
Mr. Oliver Takawira
Tel: +27(0)11 559 5129
E-mail: otakawira@uj.ac.za

 

YMCA Men’s Residence

Mr. Thapelo Pule

Tel: +27 (0)11 935 8780

E-mail: thapelop@uj.ac.za
Residence House Warden 
Mr. Neville Dlamini
Tel: +27(0)11 559 5545
E-mail nevilled@uj.ac.za

 

YWCA Men’s Residence
Residence Assistant

Ms. Ntombifuthi Nhlapho
Tel: +27(0)11 559 5015
E-mail: ntombin@uj.ac.za

Residence House Warden

Mr. Mhlobowethu Hoyi

Tel: +27(0)11 559 2788

E-mail: mhoyi@uj.ac.za

 

Ulwazi Ladies Residence 
Mr. Martin Matjeke
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 5047
E-mail: martinm@uj.ac.za

Residence House Warden 
Dr Absolum Nkosi
Tel: +27 (0)11 559 5515
E-mail: adnkosi@uj.ac.za